Skip to content

National mining body announces 2023 award winners

Several Northern Ontarians among those being recognized by CIM

The Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM) has announced its 2023 award winners, and a number of Northern Ontarians are among those being honoured.

CIM is the national representative body for the mining and metals industries, and its awards aim to recognize those who have made exceptional contributions in various fields related to those sectors.

This year, the organization said in an April 3 news release, it would hand out 23 awards to 55 recipients from across the country.

Northern Ontario recipients include:

  • Kevin Bromfield of Sudbury, director of project delivery at Stantec, who will receive a Bedford Canadian Young Leader Award;
  • Trang Tran-Valade of Sudbury, a senior advisor with Stantec, who will receive a Bedford Canadian Young Leader Award;
  • Gary Poxleitner of Sudbury, a principal at SRK Consulting, who is named a CIM Distinguished Lecturer;
  • Roy Slack of North Bay, director at Cementation Americas, who is named a CIM Distinguished Lecturer and will receive a District Distinguished Service Award; 
  • Theresa Nyabeze of Sudbury, senior specialist mine engineer with Vale, who will receive the Julian Boldy Geological Society Service Award; 
  • the CIM Sudbury Branch, which will receive the Mel W. Bartley Outstanding Branch Award; and
  • Don MacLean, founder and president of MacLean Engineering, who will receive the Mining Safety Leadership Award.

A full list of the winners is available for viewing here.

CIM is celebrating its 125th anniversary in 2023. Awards will be given out on May 1 in Montreal during the organization's annual conference.